NCA Audit Committee Inaugurated


NCA Audit Committee Inaugurated

A five-member audit committee, mandated to ensure proper and effective financial management practices at the National Communications Authority (NCA) has been inaugurated at the NCA Tower in Accra.

This is in accordance with the provisions in Section 86 of the Public Financial Management Act, 2016 (Act 921), which requires that all government institutions establish audit committees.

  • Some of the Committee members being sworn in.

The committee is chaired by Mr. J. F. Odartey Blankson with the other members being Mr. Benjamin Adjetey, a representative from the Internal Audit Agency (IAA), Mr. Ofori Henneh Frimpong, Institute of Chartered Accountants, Ghana (ICAG), Mrs. Susan Barbara A. Kumapley, Member, NCA Board, and a representative from the National Media Commission (NMC).

  • Mr. Ransford Adjei outlining the functions of the Committee

Inaugurating the committee, Mr. Ransford Adjei, Acting Director General of the IAA charged the newly inaugurated Committee to function according to their mandatory roles and responsibilities as stipulated in Act 921 to ensure that  management of NCA pursues the implementation of  recommendations contained in both the internal and external auditors report  as well as parliament’s decision on Auditor-General’s report.

He advised the committee to work diligently to achieve its laid down objectives as their efforts will contribute to the development of the NCA and Mother Ghana as a whole.

Also speaking at the ceremony, the Director General of NCA, Mr. Joe Anokye acknowledged the importance of setting the Audit Committee. He stated that the Board and Management of the Authority will ensure the committee has all the resources needed to execute its functions.

  • Mr. Anokye speaking at the ceremony

On behalf of his colleague members, Mr. Blankson, Chairperson of the committee expressed appreciation for the privilege to serve on the committee. He called for the support of management, the board and other stakeholders to help them carry out their responsibilities effectively and efficiently.

  • Committee members in a group photo with the Ag. Director General

The committee is comprise of representatives from the following institutions:

  • the Internal Audit Agency (IAA),
  • the Institute of Chartered Accountants, Ghana (ICAG),
  • the National Media Commission (NMC),
  • NCA board.

Members  of  the  Committee  shall  hold  office  for  a  period  not  exceeding  two years  and  is  eligible  for  re-appointment  but  a  member  shall not be appointed for more than two terms.