Authorised FM Radio Stations as at Second Quarter of 2017


Authorised FM Radio Stations as at Second Quarter of 2017

The number of authorised FM Radio Broadcasting Stations in Ghana as at the end of June 2017 totaled 505. Out of this number 392 stations are currently operational. 

The breakdown is as follows:

  • 31 Public radio stations
  • 5 public (Foreign) radio stations
  • 81 Community radio stations
  • 22 Campus radio stations and
  • 366 Commercial radio stations

Below are the definitions of the various classification of FM Stations:

a)   Public – all stations owned and operated by the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation (GBC) and/or any other station established by the Government of Ghana by a statutory enactment.

b)  Public Foreign – stations established by Foreign Governments through diplomatic arrangements to rebroadcast/relay content from foreign countries e.g. BBC, RFI, VoA.

c)   Commercial – those that are privately owned and operated for profit and controlled privately by independent commercial groups or individuals

d)  Community – a non-profit broadcasting service provided for a specific marginalised community by a radio or television station whose ownership and management are representative of the community for which the service is provided

e)   Campus – a station operated within the ambit of educational institutions

The details of the authorised FM radio broadcasting stations can be downloaded here