Organisational Structure
Organisational Structure





The governing body of the Authority is the Board of Directors which is responsible for securing the discharge of the functions of the Authority. The composition of the Board of Directors has been outlined clearly by Act 769 which established the Authority. According to the Act, the Board shall be appointed by President of the Republic of Ghana in consultation with the Council of State with a composition as follows:

  • A Chairperson;
  • The Director General;
  • One representative of the National Security Council, the National Media Commission and the Ministry of Communications.
  • one person with experience and expertise in communications; and
  • three other persons at least one of whom is a woman and each of whom has knowledge of expertise in electrical engineering, law, business or public administration.


Members of the Board shall hold position for a period not exceeding four (4) years and are eligible for re-appointment after the expiration of their appointments. But a member shall not be appointed for more than two terms.



The National Communications Authority has eleven (11) Divisions under the leadership of the Director General. The divisions are:

  • Administration
  • Consumer and Corporate Affairs
  • Cybersecurity
  • Engineering
  • Finance
  • Human Resource
  • Information Technology
  • Legal Administration
  • Policy, Strategy and Innovation 
  • Regulatory Administration
  • Research and Business Development

Administration Division

The Administration Division is responsible for administering and managing the Authority’s corporate offices and providing the mechanisms for the efficient and effective use of resources.


Consumer and Corporate Affairs Division

The Consumer and Corporate Affairs Division provides safeguard mechanisms to promote a positive image of the Authority to its stakeholders. The division is also responsible for educating and informing consumers, protecting their rights and resolving complaints amongst others in order to foster business and consumer confidence in the industry.


Cybersecurity Division

The Cybersecurity Division manages computer security within the organization and also supports the National Cybersecurity Strategy. The Division collaborates with other Divisions to identify, detect, and mitigate computer security threats. A Computer Emergency Response Centre (CERT), set up in the Division, will coordinate computer security within the telecommunications sector.


Engineering Division

The Engineering Division is responsible for the effective and efficient management of the Radio Frequency (RF) Spectrum for all Telecommunication Services in the country and also coordinates with neighbouring countries to minimise harmful interference issues.  The Division is also responsible for the update and maintenance of the National Frequency Plan and provides strategies to mitigate harmful interference issues within the country. 


Finance Division

The Finance Division provides financial advice, manages the funds of the Authority judiciously to ensure value for its money. It also safeguards the assets and resources of the Authority to avoid waste and strive to collect outstanding debts.


Human Resource Division

The Human Resource Division leads the provision, development and retention of the human capital to drive and support the attainment of the Authority’s corporate objectives by ensuring the alignment of people management practices to its strategic plan and the provision of required competencies within a world class working culture.


Information Technology (IT) Division

The Information Technology Division is responsible for the development and management of the Authority’s Networks and Information Systems infrastructure. The Division also advises the Authority on how to leverage IT innovations in support of Business objectives, and leads implementation of projects.


Legal Division

The Division is responsible for the provision of cutting edge legal advice and legal solutions to the Authority in the execution of its regulatory mandate. The role of the division encompasses among others the representation of the Authority before the courts, the Electronic Communications Tribunal and other adjudicatory bodies, drafting and reviewing of all legal documents, ensuring adherence to all laid down governance processes and procedure and the general facilitation of dispute resolution in the electronic communication industry.


Policy, Strategy and Innovation Division

The Policy, Strategy and Innovation Division (PSI) initiates and tracks all special initiatives of the Authority. The PSI does this by collating, benchmarking and dovetailing the Service Level Agreement of every Division to ensure that all the policies of the Authority are based on its mandate and executed within timelines.

Regulatory Administration Division

The functional objectives of the Regulatory Administration Division are to generate, administer and enforce licences/authorisations for approved services; set up and enforce standards for Telecommunications, Broadcasting and ICT Systems; validate services and verify tariffs where necessary and to ensure the proper administration of the National Numbering Plan. The division is responsible for Economic Regulation of the industry. Quality of service monitoring and is also a key component of the functions of the Regulatory Administration Division.


Research and Business Development

The Division maintains comprehensive industry data for stakeholder information and conducts market research and regulatory impact analysis to support regulatory policies. The Division also assists in the determination of the Authority’s Strategic Objectives by monitoring and evaluating the performance of the Authority.