NCA Announces Winners for DTR Service on DTT Multiplex Authorisations

The National Communications Authority wishes to announce for the information of the general public that after the evaluation of applications received on 30th January, 2017 for the award of Digital Terrestrial Radio (DTR) Service on the Digital Terrestrial Television (DTT) Multiplex Authorisation, the Authority was satisfied with six (6) applications.


The six entities who will thus be given the Authorisation for the Digital Terrestrial Radio (DTR) Service on (DTT) Multiplex with national coverage are:

Name of Applicant

Trade Name

Great FM Limited

Class FM

Kessben FM Limited

Kessben FM

Media General Ghana Limited

Onua FM

Omni Media Company Limited

Citi FM

Sena Radio Limited (Atinka FM)

Atinka Radio

Universal Multimedia Company Limited

Ahotor FM








The objectives for the award of DTT DTR Programme channels are to enhance choice for consumers, enhance attractiveness of the platform through diversity in the programmes on the multiplex and promote media pluralism.

The NCA is empowered by Section 2 of the Electronic Communications Act, 2008, Act 775 to regulate the radio spectrum designated or allocated for use by broadcasting organizations and providers of broadcasting services in accordance with the standards and requirements of the International Telecommunications Union and its Radio Regulations as agreed to or adopted by the Republic.

The National Communications Authority takes this opportunity to thank all applicants and other stakeholders for their interest during this process.


Issued by the National Communications Authority,

NCA Tower,

No. 6 Airport City, Accra.

Tel: (0)30 – 2776621/2771701 or 050-145-1522/3.


Date – Tuesday, 29th April, 2017

Editor’s Note

About NCA

The National Communications Authority, (NCA), was established by an Act of Parliament, Act 524 in December 1996, which has been repealed and replaced by the National Communications Authority Act,  2008 (Act 769). The Authority is the statutory body mandated to license and to regulate electronic communication activities and services in the country.

About DTT

Ghana signed the Geneva 2006 (GE06) Agreement establishing the digital terrestrial broadcasting plan in the bands 174 – 230 MHz and 470 – 862 MHz at the Regional Radiocommunications Conference (RRC-06). The agreement requires signatory countries including Ghana to migrate from analogue television broadcasting to a digital TV platform by 17th June 2015 (UHF band) and 17th June 2020 (VHF) band. The application of digital techniques to television broadcasting results in several advantages over analogue including the following: