tv authorization
TV Authorisation

List of Authorized TV Broadcasting Stations in Ghana as at Fourth Quarter of 2016

As at the fourth quarter of 2016, the total number of TV operators authorized by the National Communications Authority (NCA) in Ghana is 93. Out of the 93 TV stations,

  • 21 stations are Analogue Terrestrial Television (free on air),
  • 39 Satellite  Television Broadcasting (Free-To-Air Direct-Home Single Channel) ,
  • 7 Satellite Television Broadcasting (Pay TV Direct-To-Home Bouquet),
  • 8 Satellite Television Broadcasting (Free-To-Air Direct-To-Home Bouquet),
  • 5 Digital Terrestrial Pay Television (Service and  Frequency),
  • 11 Digital Terrestrial Free-To-Air Television Programme Channel,
  • 1 Digital Terrestrial Pay Television(Service Only)
  • and 1 Digital Cable Television.

A total of 51 stations are on air as at the end of December 31st, 2016.

Television (TV) broadcasting service is a broadcasting service consisting of the transmission of visual images or other visible signals, with or without accompanying sounds, where the visual images are such that sequences of them are seen as moving pictures. TV services may be transmitted over cable, terrestrial wireless or satellite platforms.

Below are the list of TV Stations authorised in the country